"Cupid Day" and other high school traditions

Discuss the February 2016 book of the month, Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver.
Shelle
Currently Reading: For the Love
Bookshelf Size: 57
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-shelle.html
Latest Review: A Positive Thought a Day Keeps the Negative Away by Dr. Curtis E. Smith
Reading Device: B00I15SB16

"Cupid Day" and other high school traditions

Post by Shelle »

"Cupid Day" at Thomas Jefferson High School plays a big role in Before I Fall. The whole tradition of Cupid Day seems very odd to me, almost like the school is deliberately allowing the "haves" to lord their status over the "have-nots" and those receiving fewer roses.

While reading the book, I thought that Cupid Day was stupid and no school would actually ever do anything like that. But then I thought back to my own high school days. I graduated in 1997, and while we didn't have a Cupid Day, the school did allow flowers, cards, balloons, etc. to be delivered to the office during class. Two minutes before the class bell rang, the school secretary would announce over the school-wide loudspeaker a list of students who needed to come to the office. It wasn't specifically announced that they had gifts waiting for them, but we all knew they did. I remember waiting in a full class, all the girls listening intently to the loud speaker, silently willing their names to be called, and the joy and disappointment that followed. There were a lot of hurt feelings on Valentine's Days during high school. I really hope my old school has come up with a better system.

Did your school do "Cupid Day" or something similar? How was it handled? Anyone have any current experience in high schools? I'd be curious to know how this tradition does (or does not) continue today.
A book is a gift you can open again and again.
-Garrison Keillor
KateNox
Bookshelf Size: 123
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-katenox.html