Official Interview: J.G. Schwartz

This forum features interviews with authors.

Hosted by kandscreeley.

Moderator: Special Discussion Leaders

kandscreeley
Special Discussion Leader
Currently Reading: The Door Within
Bookshelf Size: 487
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-kandscreeley.html
Latest Review: The Elf Revelation by Jordan David

Official Interview: J.G. Schwartz

Post by kandscreeley »

Today's Chat with Sarah features J.G. Schwartz author of The Curious Spell of Madam Genova.

Official Review

Purchase on Amazon

********************************************************************************************************************************************
1. When did you decide you wanted to be a writer?

I have always enjoyed spinning a tall tale.

2. How do you come up with your story ideas?

So many quirky things have occurred in my life…I try to write books on topics that I would enjoy reading.

3. Describe a typical writing day.

I work full-time as a physician. When I am lying in bed at 3 a.m., unable to sleep, I get up and begin to type. I listen to conversations in my head and just type them.

4. Let's discuss your book The Curious Spell of Madam Genova. The book centers around a clairvoyant and a fortune teller. Do you have experience with the supernatural?

As a teenager of about 13 or 14, I paid 25 cents to see a fortune teller at a local carnival. She predicted I would travel to foreign places, marry a tall, handsome man, and live to a ripe old age. Also, she said I had a one-dollar bill in my purse and asked to examine it. I took the wrinkled bill out for her.
She placed it near her lips and whispered a chant over it, then slowly folded it in a strange, methodical way. As she returned it to me, she looked me straight in the eye, and said, “Keep this dollar I have blessed, and you will always have money.”
I then placed it in a secret compartment of my wallet.
I was impressionable…and impressed.