Poetry Rules - Yay or Nay

This is the place for readers of poetry. Discuss poetry and literary art. You can also discuss music here, including lyrics. Also, you can discuss poets themselves, in addition to poetry.
MarisaRose
Previous Member of the Month
Favorite Book: <a href="http://forums.onlinebookclub.org/shelve ... 665">Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban</a>
Currently Reading: The Family Upstairs
Bookshelf Size: 435
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-marisarose.html
Latest Review: The Magic Shard by eelonqa K harris
Reading Device: B00JG8GOWU

Poetry Rules - Yay or Nay

Post by MarisaRose »

Hi all! I am fairly new to poetry and had a question for those of you who are more familiar with the genre. What are your thoughts on the rules of poetry?

Are some forms of poetry too strict? Do poetry rules add or detract to anyone's writing? Do you prefer free verse?
Blythe
Currently Reading:
Bookshelf Size: 0
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-blythe.html

Post by Blythe »

I don't know if there are any rules to poetry. If you are writing a sonnet, there is a guide and structure to make it a sonnet, the same with a haiku etc.

Poetry can be fun and it can be serious. It is the most maddeningly magnificent form of writing there is, but it cannot be limited to rules.
AA1495
Favorite Book: <a href="http://forums.onlinebookclub.org/shelve ... 19636">Out of the Box Awakening</a>
Currently Reading:
Bookshelf Size: 122
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-aa1495.html
Latest Review: YiaYia’s Kitchen by Brianna Koucos Midgley

Post by AA1495 »

I prefer free verse. Why hold back something that someone really wants to say?
MarisaRose
Favorite Book: <a href="http://forums.onlinebookclub.org/shelve ... 665">Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban</a>
Currently Reading: The Family Upstairs
Bookshelf Size: 435
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-marisarose.html
Latest Review: The Magic Shard by eelonqa K harris
Reading Device: B00JG8GOWU