Best music for reading?

This is the place for readers of poetry. Discuss poetry and literary art. You can also discuss music here, including lyrics. Also, you can discuss poets themselves, in addition to poetry.
Melinda Louise
Bookshelf Size: 48
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-melinda-louise.html

Best music for reading?

Post by Melinda Louise »

I am a semi-professional musician AND a book lover. I've found that some music is better for reading than others. Depending on the genre, I tend to gravitate more towards instrumental songs so that the words of the song don't interfere with the words on the page. What are some of your go-to songs for reading?
AutumnPhillips
Favorite Author: Thomas Harris
Bookshelf Size: 2
fav_author_id: 2793

Post by AutumnPhillips »

I am not really a fan of this particular example, but I do know about a certain 50 Shades Of Gray classical music soundtrack lol ;) I came across it by accident when I was searching for different versions of Bach's Goldberg Variations, and, apparently, the Aria of the Goldberg Variations is on 2 different soundtracks for 50 Shades Of Gray... Still not sure how to feel about that, but I downloaded it anyway! I'd love to find other examples of literary soundtracks though :)
Annelore Trujillo
In It Together VIP
Currently Reading: Strong Heart
Bookshelf Size: 170
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-annelore-trujillo.html
Latest Review: The Siberians by Simon J. Carey

Post by Annelore Trujillo »

I think that any genre that you enjoy is good for reading. I like simple, acoustic pieces when I am reading. My boyfriend likes to listen to rock and even electronic when he reads. It really just depends on what makes you feel at peace.
ksherryf
Bookshelf Size: 0
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-ksherryf.html

Post by ksherryf »

I enjoy listening to the Piano Guys when I read. The sound of the piano and cello together is delightful and relaxing.
Stefanus Kristian
Bookshelf Size: 11