How do you read poetry?

This is the place for readers of poetry. Discuss poetry and literary art. You can also discuss music here, including lyrics. Also, you can discuss poets themselves, in addition to poetry.
readertim109
Bookshelf Size: 0

How do you read poetry?

Post by readertim109 »

How do you read poetry? Do you buy whole poetry books? Do you just read single poems? Where would you find a single poem, online?
"Show me the books he loves and I shall know the man far better than through mortal friends."
~ Dawn Adams ~
knightss

Post by knightss »

i generally buy a book (as most of you know i have a book buying problem lol).. sometimes i'll look up authors online and find some random poems.
Nessa Marie

Post by Nessa Marie »

I have bought a few poetry books, although it's rare I'll find one I completely like. So ussually I look up authors on poetry sites and read the poems individually.
therealmsjones

Post by therealmsjones »

I am a poet and author of a book so know I do buy poetry books. I think poetry books should stay under 100 pages because after a while, a person will tire after a long book of strictly poetry no matter who or how well the book is written. Just my two cents.

Tammy
knightss

Post by knightss »

mm i've never sat down and read an entire poetry book from begining to end. i think you can appreciate poetry better if you only read a few poems at a time.
Linda

Post by Linda »

poetry is better in small portions. it's never as clean cut as actual reading so it requires more of u filling in the blanks. i like how not everything is there for you and sometimes you have to kindof work to find your own understanding of what u've just read.
"I hope you can't sleep and you dream about it
And when you dream I hope you can't sleep and you SCREAM about it
I hope your conscience EATS AT YOU and you can't BREATHE without me"
LoveHatesYou

Post by LoveHatesYou »