Errors on score cards- I disagree. Am I wrong?

Some grammar rules (and embarrassing mistakes!) transcend the uniqueness of different regions and style guides. This new International Grammar section by OnlineBookClub.org ultimately identifies those rules thus providing a simple, flexible rule-set, respecting the differences between regions and style guides. You can feel free to ask general questions about spelling and grammar. You can also provide example sentences for other members to proofread and inform you of any grammar mistakes.

Moderator: Official Reviewer Representatives

Kace Gauthier
Currently Reading:
Bookshelf Size: 3
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-kace-gauthier.html
Latest Review: Niching Up by Chris Dreyer

Icon Errors on score cards- I disagree. Am I wrong?

Post by Kace Gauthier »

So my review got rejected, I'm still learning the ropes and I'm sure it had more to do with the grammar problems, that is not why I am posting this, but this sentence is bothering me SO BADLY! Okay, here it is.

"I’m not a fan of authors doing this, but the actual story, the science fiction, and the horror that gave me nightmares is what kept me reading."

Both score cards changed is after nightmares to are and I feel like that's wrong. :?:
Diana Lowery
Currently Reading: The Exchange
Bookshelf Size: 342
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-diana-lowery.html
Latest Review: Broken Lance by William H Brown
Reading Device: B00IKPYKWG

Post by Diana Lowery »

Your independent clause has three subjects: the actual story, the science fiction, the horror. That compound subject requires a plural verb. For example: The apple, the banana, and the peach are what I put in the fruit salad. The editors are correct.
Claudia Angelucci
Previous Member of the Month
Currently Reading:
Bookshelf Size: 121
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-claudia-angelucci.html
Latest Review: Deadly Waters: The Vietnam Naval War And Its Aftermath by Randy Miller