Excerpt from Short Story

Use this forum to post short stories that you have written. This is for getting comments and constructive feedback. This is for original, creative works. You must post the actual text, no links.
Rukiya Hatcher
Currently Reading: The Different Kinds Of Monsters
Bookshelf Size: 10

Excerpt from Short Story

Post by Rukiya Hatcher »

Hi, everyone,

Looking for some general feedback on this. Does it flow well, is it interesting to read, is the syntax good/coherent stuff like that. I'm an amateur writer, so I know it isn't Shakespeare, I'm just trying to get a sense of what I do well and what I don't do so well. The subject matter is rather dark and it isn't a "story" in the traditional sense. Context: I wrote it about a serious, ongoing depression and how I lived day-to-day during that time. It's called How to Cook Breakfast in Hell, copyright to K. Rukiya Hatcher, TM, registered trademark, or whatever. Thanks in advance for your help.

"To cook breakfast in hell, first you have to wake up there. This will be easy if your life has been violently and irrevocably altered in some way that, for the moment, is impossible to accept. You won’t have to ask permission or fill out a form, you will just wake up there. You’ll know you’re in the right place because your body will be made of lead, poisonous and heavy. Your jaw will be sore from clenching it all night. Swamp mud will be suffocating you, seeping into every capillary, and your heart will spiral tender, thorny vines throughout your entire chest and these will throb and pierce you without ceasing. Your head will be broken and weighed down with the unspeakable knowledge of what has taken place there, like a burned down house, and you will find that you are a ruin instead of a person. Welcome to hell.