Review by lavellan -- Apollo's Raven by Linnea Tanner

This forum is for volunteer reviews by members of our review team. These reviews are done voluntarily by the reviewers and are published in this forum, separate from the official professional reviews. These reviews are kept separate primarily because the same book may be reviewed by many different reviewers.
Post Reply
User avatar
lavellan
Posts: 385
Joined: 25 Dec 2017, 17:40
2018 Reading Goal: 100
2018 Reading Goal Completion: 36
Currently Reading: Jane Eyre
Bookshelf Size: 49
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-lavellan.html
Latest Review: Apollo's Raven by Linnea Tanner

Review by lavellan -- Apollo's Raven by Linnea Tanner

Post by lavellan » 01 Oct 2018, 19:08

[Following is a volunteer review of "Apollo's Raven" by Linnea Tanner.]
Book Cover
4 out of 4 stars
Share This Review


Apollo’s Raven is the first installment in the Curse of Clansmen and Kings series written by Linnea Tanner. The novel mainly follows Catrin, a Celtic princess, and Marcellus, a Roman nobleman. Set in 24 A.D. in Britannica, the threat of Roman conquest looms over the various Celtic tribes. Adding to this fear is a prophecy that pertains to Catrin; she is destined to aid her half-brother, Marrock, in overthrowing their father, King Amren, and help the Romans in conquering the island. However, there is still hope for Catrin: the prophecy is malleable, and her druidess powers may be the key to her saving her homeland. To make matters more complicated, Catrin begins to fall in love with Marcellus after she is tasked when overseeing him. Will the pair be able to balance their budding relationship with their familial duties?

Tanner has done an excellent job of blending fantasy with historical fiction. I did not know much about Celtic or Roman culture, so it was fascinating to read about the differences and similarities between the two. I appreciated that the Celtics viewed women as equals and allowed for them to follow whatever lifepath they desired. This contrasted sharply with the highly patriarchal Roman society. Tanner took this one step forward and allowed for these differences to help color the dynamics between Catrin and Marcellus. I enjoyed that the pair did not automatically click and suffered from their own petty squabbles. For instance, Marcellus underestimates Catrin’s physical prowess on multiple occasions, giving Catrin the chance to best him and show him the truth worth of women. Additionally, the fantasy elements included in the novel had me engrossed and curious to learn more about the world Tanner crafted. For instance, the logistics of Catrin melding minds with the raven, the animal that her druidess powers allow her to connect with, were fascinating.

In terms of faults, there were a few minor issues that I had with the novel. One involved the off-handed mention of Catrin having a twin sister that died when she was a young girl. This popped up around the halfway point of the book and came up during one of Queen Rhiannon’s, Catrin’s mother, musings. The fact that Catrin had a twin sister was never discussed again. I’m not sure if this was just foreshadowing for future books in the series, but the off-handed mention left me confused as to the importance of this tidbit. Additionally, there were some instances where the characters seemed to act unreasonably just to advance the plot. Without giving away spoilers, I feel that Queen Rhiannon acted completely unreasonably and impulsively in a tense diplomatic situation, something that a woman of her stature and experience would never do.

Apollo’s Raven only contained a handful of errors. Most errors dealt with incorrect word or homonym usage. One example involved the use of “discretely” instead of “discreetly”.

I rate Apollo’s Raven 4 out of 4 stars. The novel was action-packed and expertly blended historical and fantasy elements. The errors I noted were minor and did not detract from my enjoyment of the novel. I would recommend the book to readers who enjoy Roman and Celtic culture. Additionally, romance fans will enjoy the love between Marcellus and Catrin. More sensitive readers may be put off by the mentions of sexual assault and gore.

******
Apollo's Raven
View: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on iTunes

Like lavellan's review? Post a comment saying so!

Wa_hu
Posts: 24
Joined: 24 Sep 2018, 04:01
Currently Reading:
Bookshelf Size: 13
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-wa-hu.html
Latest Review: Isabella's Painting by Ellen Butler

Post by Wa_hu » 02 Oct 2018, 02:10

Thanks for this review, it is very detailed and infornative. I'll be sure to read the book as soon as it becomes available to me.

User avatar
inaramid
Posts: 593
Joined: 04 Nov 2017, 11:22
2018 Reading Goal: 48
2017 Reading Goal: 10
2018 Reading Goal Completion: 64
2017 Reading Goal Completion: 30
Currently Reading: Siege and Storm
Bookshelf Size: 82
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-inaramid.html
Latest Review: First Friday by Tory Hartmann

Post by inaramid » 10 Oct 2018, 02:57

From this (and other reviews as well), this book sounds epic. The sheer number of details make my head whirl. I like how you mentioned that "the prophecy is malleable." It certainly gives another dimension to the story. Thanks for this review.

User avatar
Fozia-Bajwa
Posts: 391
Joined: 05 May 2018, 13:04
Currently Reading: Call Her Miss Ross
Bookshelf Size: 121
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-fozia-bajwa.html
Latest Review: McDowell by William H. Coles

Post by Fozia-Bajwa » 10 Oct 2018, 07:30

This is the story of Rome and Celtic people. It contains political issues, government, war, and love relationship between Catrina and Marcellus. Good review. I enjoyed it

Post Reply

Return to “Volunteer Reviews”