Official Review: I am a Soldier, First and Always: The Di...

Please use this forum to discuss historical fiction books. Common definitions define historical fiction as novels written at least 25-50 years after the book's setting.
Forum rules
Authors and publishers are not able to post replies in the review topics.
Tomah
Currently Reading:
Bookshelf Size: 137
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-tomah.html
Latest Review: Greta Gar BITCH by Kimber Leigh

Official Review: I am a Soldier, First and Always: The Di...

Post by Tomah »

[Following is an official OnlineBookClub.org review of "I am a Soldier, First and Always: The Distinguished Career of Major General Winfield Scott Hancock" by James Harold Kelly.]
Book Cover
4 out of 4 stars
Share This Review

There are so many distinguished figures in military history one would have to compile several books to briefly cover all of them. When it comes to the nineteenth century, one name that can’t be left out is that of Winfield Scott Hancock. Hancock fought in the Mexican-American War and the American Civil War on the Union side, coming out as a war hero. He was even nominated for President later on. His story is the focus of James Harold Kelly’s "I am a soldier, first and always": The Distinguished Career of Major General Winfield Scott Hancock.

The book is a treat for fans of historical fiction and military novels, as the author does an impeccable job recreating events from the past using a mix of thorough research and creativity to fill in the gaps. This first volume is divided into two parts: “The Soldier,” which goes over Hancock’s education and first years of service, and “Rebellion,” which covers his participation in the Civil War before the Battle of Gettysburg. There are twenty-eight chapters in total.