How do you publicize your book???

Discuss writing, including writing tips & tricks, writing philosophy, writer's block, etc. If you have grammar questions, marketing questions, or if you want feedback on a poem or short story you wrote, please use the corresponding forum below.
Featured Topic: How to Get Your Book Published
Forum rules
If you have spelling or grammar questions, please post them in the International Grammar section.

If you want feedback for poetry or short stories you have written, please post the poem or short story in either the Creative Original Works: Short Stories section or the Creative Original Works: Poetry section.

If you have a book that you want reviewed, click here to submit your book for review.
elleng
Bookshelf Size: 0

How do you publicize your book???

Post by elleng »

Hi to all!
I have been an online reviewer for Amazon and other sites, and now I am a full fledged author of an illustrated children's book, Flutterby. It is wonderful and response has been good.
How do you folks publicize your work? Book fairs? Advertisement? I have mailed copies to folks that may talk about it, but wanted your opinions.
Shameless plug - if you want personalized or autographed copy of Flutterby, please send check or money order for $12.00 (to cover postage) to Ellen George PO Box 71361 Marietta GA 30007.
Thanks and please give any tips for getting your book OUT THERE!!!
ellen
Gfilm

Post by Gfilm »

Hi Ellen. Did you get a book agent or are you self published?

Either way you need to nail down the key points:

Target Demographics

Regions

If your book has not been sold in most bookstores, look at buyers for the bookstores and then ask when they have opening for a signing and reading.

This is where the book agent comes in handy heh. Usually a publisher will also handle the promotion, book tour, and Signings/Readings.
Maud Fitch
Favorite Author: Jasper Fforde
Favorite Book: The Eyre Affair
fav_author_id: 4856

Post by Maud Fitch »