How to start writing

Discuss writing, including writing tips & tricks, writing philosophy, writer's block, etc. If you have grammar questions, marketing questions, or if you want feedback on a poem or short story you wrote, please use the corresponding forum below.
Featured Topic: How to Get Your Book Published
Forum rules
If you have spelling or grammar questions, please post them in the International Grammar section.

If you want feedback for poetry or short stories you have written, please post the poem or short story in either the Creative Original Works: Short Stories section or the Creative Original Works: Poetry section.

If you have a book that you want reviewed, click here to submit your book for review.
pauly1740
Bookshelf Size: 0
Reading Device: 1400697484

How to start writing

Post by pauly1740 »

Good afternoon everyone.
I am a potential writer who has been procrastinating for a while.
I would like some input on just where and how to start.
I am a much traveled Navy retiree who has 20 years of Navy life to share.
KcA

Post by KcA »

For me, I would say what works is first getting an idea. I tend to procrastinate as well and when I do, I try to get back by reading a new book or totally immersing myself in the idea I came up with. That usually helps me get excited at the prospect of writing again. Then, the next thing to do would be to map out the basic structure of events for your novel. It is subject to change but it always helps to have a framework. Then, write, write, write. Set a schedule for how often you want to write, how much you want to write each time and when your deadline is. If you have a set schedule and you actively work towards it, you should be able to complete your girl. I hope this helps!
Yung Senpai
Favorite Book: Lolita
Currently Reading:
Bookshelf Size: 20

Post by Yung Senpai »