Can You Write and Illustrate Too?

Discuss writing, including writing tips & tricks, writing philosophy, writer's block, etc. If you have grammar questions, marketing questions, or if you want feedback on a poem or short story you wrote, please use the corresponding forum below.
Featured Topic: How to Get Your Book Published
Forum rules
If you have spelling or grammar questions, please post them in the International Grammar section.

If you want feedback for poetry or short stories you have written, please post the poem or short story in either the Creative Original Works: Short Stories section or the Creative Original Works: Poetry section.

If you have a book that you want reviewed, click here to submit your book for review.
Loveabull
Favorite Author: Too many to list
Favorite Book: Too many to count
Bookshelf Size: 0

Can You Write and Illustrate Too?

Post by Loveabull »

I've always been interested in getting some children's book proposals sent out there. I'm not a professional artist but can do fanciful cartoons. One of the central characters I would like to include would be a pit bull type dog...sort of an advocacy for the breed. I'd feel bad if an editor turned the dog into a retriever or all purpose cute little mutt.

Perhaps in a cover letter I could explain that a bit? I understand that editors will often team an illustrator with a writer to produce picture books. Just wonder how professional the illustrations have to be? I'm thinking of a character like the Nerdy kid or even Captain Underpants and Dav Pilkey...basically line drawn cartoons. Suggestions?
" The writer must write what he has to say, not speak it."
Dream Catcher
Currently Reading: Battle Royale [Koushun Takami]
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-dream-catcher.html

Post by Dream Catcher »

I like your idea. And if you're adamant about keeping your dog, I'd suggest trying as many publishers as you can until you find one that will let you.
Carla Hurst-Chandler