Official Review: More of Us to the West by Trinity Dunn

Please use this subforum to discuss romance or erotic books.
Forum rules
Authors and publishers are not able to post replies in the review topics.
Post Reply
User avatar
KristyKhem
Posts: 699
Joined: 20 Feb 2018, 13:22
2021 Reading Goal: 50
Favorite Book: Carmela
Currently Reading:
Bookshelf Size: 174
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-kristykhem.html
Latest Review: COME TRAVEL WITH ME and my Cameras by Terry Turle

Official Review: More of Us to the West by Trinity Dunn

Post by KristyKhem »

[Following is an official OnlineBookClub.org review of "More of Us to the West" by Trinity Dunn.]
Book Cover
4 out of 4 stars
Share This Review


The unthinkable happens when a plane destined for Bora Bora encounters a storm and crashes into the sea. The trip was supposed to help Alaina and Chris rekindle the spark in their marriage, but it succeeded in separating them when Alaina found herself on a lifeboat with eleven other survivors, none of whom were Chris. There’s only one familiar face among them – Jack Volmer, a former teen actor. Alaina instantly recognizes him from the posters she kept as a teenager. Injured but alive, the survivors make it to an uninhabited island after sailing for days.

As time passes, the chances of being rescued ebb like the tides of the sea. Isolation forces the surviving strangers to bond. Alaina seeks solace in Jack’s presence, but she struggles to find a balance between her past and her present. Against the backdrop of their blossoming romance, a dark mystery surrounding the plane crash and the island’s identity begins to unfold. More of Us to the West is the first book in Trinity Dunn’s Adrift series, and it takes its readers on a thrilling adventure to show them that tragedy often brings strange new beginnings. Grab some popcorn because this one will play out in your imagination like a movie.

This novel is best suited for fans of Lost and Survivor. Adults who like romance and adventure novels shouldn't wait to get this book. Potential readers should be aware that the novel contains sensitive topics, such as violence and death. This is a lengthy book that spans over 1000 pages in my e-book reader. It’s not a light read, but it is worth reading. What’s even better is that a professional editor must have prepared it before publication because there weren’t a lot of errors to disrupt my flow of reading.

The characters in this book are the ones that really make this story shine. Each one is distinctly different in appearance, age, and personality. They make the tale very realistic. Apart from Jack and Alaina, other survivors include a teen boy, a little girl, and a pair of grandparents. One of my favorite characters was a guy whose distinct Southern accent was displayed in all of his dialogues in the book. He was an easygoing, down-to-earth person who used a lot of hilarious idioms.

Besides the initial plane crash, other sinister events in the characters’ lives made the story unpredictable and thrilling. Gory injuries and ferocious animals are expected when people live on a deserted island. The book delivered that, but it also demonstrated real conflicts and an evil side of human nature. Moreover, the book makes it pleasantly impossible to understand the island’s real identity. Little clues are hidden in the descriptions and dialogues. They hint at fantasy, sci-fi, and paranormal elements, but any of these could be possible. I enjoyed thinking about all of the different theories.

At first, I neither liked Alaina nor Jack because they both seemed a little uncaring and pessimistic. However, the book regularly shared some of Alaina’s memories which helped me to understand her personality and her marriage. Eventually, I warmed up to her and even became concerned when she encountered challenges. I began to admire Jack when I realized how levelheaded, thoughtful, and romantic he was.

It takes a lot of skill to produce a story that’s not only set in an exotic and mysterious location but also successfully merges adventure, romance, humor, and suspense. I really enjoyed this novel. The characters are unique, the plot is unpredictable, and the main characters evolve, learn, and grow together. Therefore, I’m happy to award More of Us to the West four out of four stars.

******
More of Us to the West
View: on Bookshelves | on Amazon
Kanchan Sharma
Posts: 136
Joined: 10 Mar 2021, 06:35
Currently Reading: Fear Not, Dream Big, & Execute
Bookshelf Size: 57
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-kanchan-sharma.html
Latest Review: How To Be Successful by M. Curtis McCoy

Post by Kanchan Sharma »

The review is interesting and intriguing. I am eager to read the book.
Theresa Stolk
Posts: 3
Joined: 16 May 2021, 04:41
2021 Reading Goal: 50
Currently Reading:
Bookshelf Size: 0

Post by Theresa Stolk »

Very well written, and descriptive, making a reader eager to read this book, although it runs to over 1000 pages. Might make a good tv series from the description.
User avatar
Piece Nkem
Posts: 208
Joined: 18 Mar 2021, 13:35
2021 Reading Goal: 50
Currently Reading:
Bookshelf Size: 23
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-piece-nkem.html
Latest Review: The Chrysalis and the Creatures of the Highlands by Bruce Rowe

Post by Piece Nkem »

A fascinating intrigue of clash of relationship. I'm in!
User avatar
KristyKhem
Posts: 699
Joined: 20 Feb 2018, 13:22
2021 Reading Goal: 50
Favorite Book: Carmela
Currently Reading:
Bookshelf Size: 174
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-kristykhem.html
Latest Review: COME TRAVEL WITH ME and my Cameras by Terry Turle

Post by KristyKhem »

Kanchan Sharma wrote: 16 May 2021, 03:51 The review is interesting and intriguing. I am eager to read the book.
I enjoyed the story and I think you will love it! Thank you for commenting on my review!
User avatar
KristyKhem
Posts: 699
Joined: 20 Feb 2018, 13:22
2021 Reading Goal: 50
Favorite Book: Carmela
Currently Reading:
Bookshelf Size: 174
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-kristykhem.html
Latest Review: COME TRAVEL WITH ME and my Cameras by Terry Turle

Post by KristyKhem »

Theresa Stolk wrote: 16 May 2021, 05:33 Very well written, and descriptive, making a reader eager to read this book, although it runs to over 1000 pages. Might make a good tv series from the description.
Thank you! I totally agree with you - if this was a TV series, I would definitely watch it!
User avatar
KristyKhem
Posts: 699
Joined: 20 Feb 2018, 13:22
2021 Reading Goal: 50
Favorite Book: Carmela
Currently Reading:
Bookshelf Size: 174
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-kristykhem.html
Latest Review: COME TRAVEL WITH ME and my Cameras by Terry Turle

Post by KristyKhem »

Piece Nkem wrote: 16 May 2021, 06:52 A fascinating intrigue of clash of relationship. I'm in!
Awesome! Happy reading! Thanks for stopping by to read and comment on my review.
User avatar
Kavita Shah
Posts: 1020
Joined: 12 Dec 2020, 12:30
2021 Reading Goal: 100
Favorite Book: Spellbound - The Workings of Drugtech
Currently Reading:
Bookshelf Size: 45
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-kavita-shah.html
Latest Review: Serendipity Mystery: Diary of a Snoopy Cat by R.F. Kristi

Post by Kavita Shah »

Thank you for an insightful and informative review! The book sounds great. I would like to read it. But 1000 pages sounds pretty long.😅
User avatar
KristyKhem
Posts: 699
Joined: 20 Feb 2018, 13:22
2021 Reading Goal: 50
Favorite Book: Carmela
Currently Reading:
Bookshelf Size: 174
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-kristykhem.html
Latest Review: COME TRAVEL WITH ME and my Cameras by Terry Turle

Post by KristyKhem »

Kavita Shah wrote: 16 May 2021, 09:00 Thank you for an insightful and informative review! The book sounds great. I would like to read it. But 1000 pages sounds pretty long.😅
Yeah, it's a pretty long book! Maybe one day, if you have the time, you can check it out :)
User avatar
Booklover Becca
Posts: 535
Joined: 13 Feb 2021, 09:54
2021 Reading Goal: 30
Currently Reading:
Bookshelf Size: 23
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-booklover-becca.html
Latest Review: Possible by William H. Barr

Post by Booklover Becca »

This sounds like an adventure to read. As the first book in a series, I’m very interested to find out what happens and read the continuing story. Thanks for the great review
User avatar
Ahmed Adam
Posts: 1
Joined: 14 Sep 2018, 18:10
Bookshelf Size: 0

Post by Ahmed Adam »

Very interesting and a good piece of work there I would love to read the continuity, much obliged for the superb review.
User avatar
Mtibza eM
Posts: 867
Joined: 11 Jun 2020, 13:27
2021 Reading Goal: 66
Favorite Book:
Currently Reading: Money Faucet
Bookshelf Size: 75
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-mtibza-em.html
Latest Review: Winning the War on Cancer by Sylvie Beljanski

Post by Mtibza eM »

Great review. Thank you for sharing.
User avatar
Pallavi Lakra
Posts: 87
Joined: 24 May 2021, 08:52
2021 Reading Goal: 10
Currently Reading: Apotheosis Now
Bookshelf Size: 44

Post by Pallavi Lakra »

It must have been one interesting book as 1000 pages is a lot but the author took the opportunity to share every character's narrative and make it appealing. Thanks for the wonderful review.
Post Reply

Return to “Romance and Erotic Books”