Nietzsche

This forum is for discussion about authors. You can discuss specific authors, types of authors, groups of authors, or any other topics related to authors.

Related Special Forums: Author Articles | Author Interviews

If you are an author or writer looking to discuss writing and author-related issues, please use our writing forums instead.
kafka
Bookshelf Size: 0

Nietzsche

Post by kafka »

Hello, I have a few questions about this philosopher. First of all, I haven't a good preparation in philosophy, I have studied (I am studying yet) it at school but I haven't ever read books that debate of philosophy. I am reading “Thus Spoke Zarathustra”, it is beautiful and poetic but I am finding a lot of problems with the interpretation of his philosophy. The question is: “is possible to understand (at least partially) the philosophy of Nietzsche without a solid preparation? What are the books that I need to read to start”"

P.s. English is not my first language, I am sorry for the mistakes.
Russell Burke
Currently Reading:
Bookshelf Size: 68

Post by Russell Burke »

It's true, much of what Nietzsche says is hard to grasp, and the difficulty of getting a general sense of his philosophy is compounded by the fact that his body of work is quite extensive. Two books prominent in the field of Nietzsche studies that you might find useful are Walter A. Kaufmann's Nietzsche: Philosopher, Psychologist, Antichrist and Arthur C. Danto's Nietzsche as Philosopher.
Libs_Books
Favorite Book: The year of the flood
Currently Reading: Mason Dixon
Bookshelf Size: 273
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-libs-books.html
Latest Review: Dont Panic Its Organic by Dr. Andy Lopez

Post by Libs_Books »