Official Review: How to Write Smarter by Darlene Franklin

Please use this sub-forum to discuss any fiction books or series that do not fit into one of the other categories. If the fiction book fits into one the other categories, please use that category instead.
Forum rules
Authors and publishers are not able to post replies in the review topics.
Tomah
Currently Reading:
Bookshelf Size: 101
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-tomah.html
Latest Review: I am a Soldier, First and Always: The Distinguished Career of Major General Winfield Scott Hancock by James Harold Kelly

Official Review: How to Write Smarter by Darlene Franklin

Post by Tomah »

[Following is an official OnlineBookClub.org review of "How to Write Smarter" by Darlene Franklin.]
Book Cover
3 out of 4 stars
Share This Review

Darlene Franklin’s How to Write Smarter is a guide for writers who want to take their writing to a professional level and make a living with it. The author is a seasoned writer with years of experience publishing books and magazine articles, having over fifty unique titles under her belt. In this work, she distills all of her knowledge into simple steps anyone can follow.

The book is divided into thirty lessons and five units: basic skills, nonfiction, fiction, poetry, and writing project. Each unit tackles a specific area of writing to make the reader a well-rounded writer who can then choose their specialty. The lessons come with quizzes to consolidate your knowledge and assignments to polish your skills.

Though the book is general enough to apply to most writers, the author also provides specific advice for the Christian market since she has expertise in it. Those interested in this niche should find it very helpful, but those who aren’t can safely skip these sections. Overall, the book is suitable for people of any religious affiliation.