Review by hanhas11 -- The Unbound Soul

This forum is for volunteer reviews by members of our review team. These reviews are done voluntarily by the reviewers and are published in this forum, separate from the official professional reviews. These reviews are kept separate primarily because the same book may be reviewed by many different reviewers.
Forum rules
Authors and publishers are not able to post replies in the review topics.
hanhas11
Currently Reading:
Bookshelf Size: 10
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-hanhas11.html
Latest Review: The Unbound Soul by Richard L. Haight

Review by hanhas11 -- The Unbound Soul

Post by hanhas11 »

[Following is a volunteer review of "The Unbound Soul" by Richard L. Haight.]
Book Cover
4 out of 4 stars
Share This Review

To be very honest, I chose to read this book not because I have a lot of interest/experience in the spiritual examination of one's self but because I have recently been diagnosed with a very severe illness and think that learning of new ways to cope is necessary. Therefore, when approaching this review, my mentally is not of an expert, but rather of someone open to the idea of reflection and spiritual guidance for their own betterment (but a novice).

For my purposes, the first section of the book is pretty useless. Haight goes into his history and several of his musings of the mind, spirit, and how they connect us to the world around us. This portion of the text is actually pretty amazing to read through as it is very well written and pretty interesting to read even if you don't one hundred percent follow this sort of teaching. He explains that not being sure of these teachings and just exploring the idea behind things are okay. His history in spirituality began at age 8 and he has spent the rest of his life internally examining himself and those around him.