Review by Bentley1209+ -- Health Tips, Myths, and Tricks

This forum is for volunteer reviews by members of our review team. These reviews are done voluntarily by the reviewers and are published in this forum, separate from the official professional reviews. These reviews are kept separate primarily because the same book may be reviewed by many different reviewers.
Forum rules
Authors and publishers are not able to post replies in the review topics.
Bentley1209+
Currently Reading:
Bookshelf Size: 0
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-bentley1209.html
Latest Review: Health Tips, Myths, and Tricks by Morton E Tavel, MD

Review by Bentley1209+ -- Health Tips, Myths, and Tricks

Post by Bentley1209+ »

[Following is a volunteer review of "Health Tips, Myths, and Tricks" by Morton E Tavel, MD.]
Book Cover
4 out of 4 stars
Share This Review

I have over ten years’ experience in the natural foods industry and grew up on an organic farm. I grew increasingly disillusioned with the retail end of the business as I came to feel at odds with what Michael Pollan calls “nutritionism”: the idea that nutritional value and health is a function of individual nutrients. The retail natural foods industry has become a hyper-manic proponent of this notion as a means of ginning up interest in whatever the newest and most exotic isolated nutrient may be with promises that this one will be the latest magic bullet. The book, “Health Tips, Myths, and Tricks” by Morton E. Tavel, M.D. is an antidote to the hucksterism displayed by Famous Celebrity Doctors who transfer the credibility implied by their degrees to nutritional supplements with dubious scientific research.