Review by Helene_2008 -- We are Voulhire: A New Arrival ...

This forum is for volunteer reviews by members of our review team. These reviews are done voluntarily by the reviewers and are published in this forum, separate from the official professional reviews. These reviews are kept separate primarily because the same book may be reviewed by many different reviewers.
Forum rules
Authors and publishers are not able to post replies in the review topics.
Post Reply
User avatar
Helene_2008
Posts: 84
Joined: 24 Apr 2019, 19:43
Currently Reading:
Bookshelf Size: 12
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-helene-2008.html
Latest Review: Music to My Ears (Pre-Release Beta Edition) by Heidi M. Simone

Review by Helene_2008 -- We are Voulhire: A New Arrival ...

Post by Helene_2008 » 18 May 2019, 18:41

[Following is a volunteer review of "We are Voulhire: A New Arrival under Great Skies" by Matthew Tysz.]
Book Cover
4 out of 4 stars
Share This Review


While Matthew Tysz analogized this book to Game of Thrones, I could not relate as I haven't seen the popular show (yes we do exist). I can however, draw a parallel between this book and Lord of the Rings. Picture medieval times, some among you who are able to do magic, war ravaged towns, and an alliance between three young men (so it was four in Lord the of Rings, close enough). The author does a beautiful job spinning a tale with the main themes of who can you trust and always have hope, even in the unlikeliest of characters.
While the book is written from the perspective of multiple characters, two characters and their stories are most prominent. Galen is a young man from the Land of Princes. His estranged great uncle sends him papers to have him come to Voulhire to take over his blacksmith business. He is an unlikely heir, as Galen has no experience as a blacksmith, but maybe a magical manual and executor of his great uncle's will, Rowan,can help.
The second main character is Lord Eldus, newly appointed Lord of Hillport. He has made it his personal mission to rebuild and revitalize the city after the rein of two unsavory characters. One is dead, and unlikely to return and haunt the town, while the other's whereabouts are less certain.
I give We are Voulhire: A New Arrival under Great Skies a rating of 4 out of 4. This book was out of my comfort zone and I took a chance on it as I was intrigued by the author's biography. I have a mutual appreciation for Manhattan and felt the author's previous occupations could make for interesting story writing. I felt the book was well edited and well written for a premiere novel. I really enjoyed the characters Beth and Beverly. I think they are unique and I am interested to see what their future holds in the series.
While I rate the book highly, I was frustrated with the lack of background on one of the main characters, Galen. While a great uncle and grandmother is briefly mentioned, there is nothing about a mother or father. I feel a little more development of the characters would help to engage more readers.
I would recommend this book to anyone who likes fantasy and action/adventure books. The book did not contain much illicit material, so it is appropriate for anyone teenage years and up. Fans of Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, and similar novels will enjoy this book. A core message throughout all of these is despite the death and destruction we face in our world, there is always hope.

******
We are Voulhire: A New Arrival under Great Skies
View: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

Like Helene_2008's review? Post a comment saying so!

User avatar
Kibetious
Previous Member of the Month
Posts: 2166
Joined: 26 Jul 2017, 01:48
2019 Reading Goal: 70
2019 Reading Goal Completion: 32
2018 Reading Goal: 100
2018 Reading Goal Completion: 49
Currently Reading:
Bookshelf Size: 781
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-kibetious.html
Latest Review: The Onam Rhyme and Other Passages from Time, (American Edition) by Biju Vasudevan

Post by Kibetious » 13 Jun 2019, 04:47

Love the underlying message hope in the book. Thanks for the review. I think the book will appeal to the readers you've quoted above and I fall in the category of those who enjoy action/adventure books.
​​​​​​He gives strength to those who are tired; to the ones who lack power, he gives renewed energy :techie-studyinggray:

User avatar
inaramid
Posts: 888
Joined: 04 Nov 2017, 11:22
2019 Reading Goal: 50
2019 Reading Goal Completion: 44
2018 Reading Goal: 48
2018 Reading Goal Completion: 77
2017 Reading Goal: 10
2017 Reading Goal Completion: 30
Currently Reading: Siege and Storm
Bookshelf Size: 109
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-inaramid.html
Latest Review: A King Empowered by J R Tomlin

Post by inaramid » 13 Jun 2019, 05:04

The book cover doesn't really say "epic fantasy," so I'm really glad for the information. Thanks for this review.

User avatar
juliusotieno02
Posts: 367
Joined: 16 Apr 2019, 06:06
2019 Reading Goal: 20
2019 Reading Goal Completion: 155
Favorite Book: Mythic Worlds and the One You Can Believe In
Currently Reading:
Bookshelf Size: 214
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-juliusotieno02.html
Latest Review: The Barnyard Buddies Meet a Newcomer by Julie Penshorn

Post by juliusotieno02 » 14 Jun 2019, 04:35

I've read this series and i agree with you that the Galen story is captivating. You also mentioned about the story being written in characters' perspective, i think thats the strength of this series. Thanks for the review.
Bury your dictionaries

The words you need
are in your heart
and the eyes
of the people
you love.

User avatar
unamilagra
Posts: 743
Joined: 07 Feb 2019, 22:57
2019 Reading Goal: 20
2019 Reading Goal Completion: 195
Currently Reading: The Explosive Child
Bookshelf Size: 52
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-unamilagra.html
Latest Review: The Tails/Tales of Fin and Fang by Kat Morris
Reading Device: B00JG8GOWU

Post by unamilagra » 14 Jun 2019, 08:56

Sounds like this book was a good start to the series. Thanks for an interesting review!

User avatar
Prisallen
Posts: 1593
Joined: 27 Feb 2019, 18:57
2019 Reading Goal: 104
2019 Reading Goal Completion: 49
Favorite Book: The Unbound Soul
Currently Reading:
Bookshelf Size: 56
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-prisallen.html
Latest Review: The 36 Watchers, by Dan Bar Hava

Post by Prisallen » 16 Jun 2019, 08:21

It sounds like this is an exciting, well-written novel. It's interesting that only one of the main characters is not well developed. I really enjoyed reading your review!

User avatar
Miriam Molina
Previous Member of the Month
Posts: 6412
Joined: 02 May 2017, 20:17
2019 Reading Goal: 50
2019 Reading Goal Completion: 66
2018 Reading Goal: 48
2018 Reading Goal Completion: 158
2017 Reading Goal: 36
2017 Reading Goal Completion: 125
Favorite Book:
Currently Reading: A Stained White Radiance
Bookshelf Size: 570
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-miriam-molina.html
Latest Review: Happy Place by Alexis Clear
Reading Device: B00KC6I06S

Post by Miriam Molina » 19 Jun 2019, 07:02

"Hope springs eternal." I have great admiration for this prolific young author, and I hope to read one of his books soon. This series seems to be a good start.

User avatar
Daniel_
Posts: 287
Joined: 31 May 2019, 14:24
Currently Reading:
Bookshelf Size: 95
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-daniel.html
Latest Review: Chase and the Trampoline Car by Meridyth Sutherland

Post by Daniel_ » 30 Jun 2019, 01:12

Helene_2008 wrote:
18 May 2019, 18:41
well written for a premiere novel
Indeed. It is a fantastic book.
Great review!

Post Reply

Return to “Volunteer Reviews”