Getting back into reading

Looking for a specific book recommendation? Need help finding your next great read? Tell us a little about you, your preferences, and other books you enjoy. Tell us a little about what kind of books you want to read. Our helpful community of avid readers will gladly help you. :)

If you are looking for general recommendations rather than personalized recommendations, please check out the exclusive reviews from our official review team.
Jackkel Dragon
Bookshelf Size: 0

Getting back into reading

Post by Jackkel Dragon »

I feel like I've been slacking off on reading books lately, so I thought maybe it would be a good idea to get some suggestions on what to read. The latest things I remember finishing are Metro 2034, Another: Episode S, and the first volume of the new Darth Vader comic series, and I started the first of those last summer. I feel that, as a writer, I should probably make more of an effort to keep reading when I can.

Tricky thing about asking for a recommendation is that I'm not entirely sure what I'd like to read. Some things that I think I'd like at first turn out to be boring to me, and I sometimes get surprised with things I didn't think I'd like. But since asking for suggestions will go nowhere without something to work with, I'll list out a few ideas I had for what I might be looking for:
  • Female protagonist, preferably 18 or older. So much of what I read has a male lead, even if they aren't the actual focus of the story. So I'd like to see something a bit different, if possible. I'm also trying to get out of having most of my own stories feature teenagers, so it might help to see some adult leading characters.