Are we over-reacting?

Welcome to The Book, Cook, and Crafts, the place where lovers of cooking can share cool recipes, get advice on cooking techniques and tips, recommend great cooking books, and chat about food. Also, members can discuss crafty things here.
Lincolnshirelass
Previous Member of the Month
Bookshelf Size: 0

Are we over-reacting?

Post by Lincolnshirelass »

First of all, apologies in advance, and cards on the table. I'm a relative newbie and I'm also very far from being a good cook. But I wonder sometimes if we're not in danger of getting too hung-up about children's eating habits. Now don't get me wrong. Obviously it makes sense for children to eat a fairly healthy diet and not overload on the less than healthy stuff. But here in the UK (don't know about elsewhere) children sometimes have their school lunchboxes inspected and even things like sausage rolls or Scotch eggs have been confiscated. Periodically anti-obesity campaigners (prominent among them the delightfully ironically named Dr Tam Fry) appear on radio or TV and hold forth about the evils of children eating things with SALTFATSUGAR . And incidentally, that isn't a typo. The three ingredients of the Evil Empire are strung together into one demonic trinity in the eyes of Dr Fry and his ilk. Now plainly excesses of any of these can turn into a bad thing. But it's almost reaching the stage where a slice of cake or a bag of crisps is viewed as a form of child abuse. I also think it's unrealistic to try to withhold things from children completely. The old saying about forbidden fruits (!) tasting sweetest has a lot of truth in it. And to say a child won't develop a taste for things is unrealistic. I remember my Mum, who was a child when sweet rationing ended, telling me there were queues miles long for the children to eat the sweets they'd been deprived of.

Pardon me for sounding off at length, and sorry if I've offended anyone!
An Eye for an Eye only ends up making the whole world blind.