Should I blog?

Discuss writing, including writing tips & tricks, writing philosophy, writer's block, etc. If you have grammar questions, marketing questions, or if you want feedback on a poem or short story you wrote, please use the corresponding forum below.
Featured Topic: How to Get Your Book Published
Forum rules
If you have spelling or grammar questions, please post them in the International Grammar section.

If you want feedback for poetry or short stories you have written, please post the poem or short story in either the Creative Original Works: Short Stories section or the Creative Original Works: Poetry section.

If you have a book that you want reviewed, click here to submit your book for review.
Ginger_Julie
Bookshelf Size: 0
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-ginger-julie.html

Should I blog?

Post by Ginger_Julie »

I was wondering how beneficial blogging could be? As a writer, I would love to start a writing blog of one-shots, reviews, writing tips, favorite authors, etc. Anything a writer would appreciate. Just to get an opinion, is this something that I should start doing?
CJBrightley
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-cjbrightley.html

Post by CJBrightley »

I enjoy blogging, but I try not to put pressure on myself about it. Blogging is a fun addition to my website... it's not my writing career. I write about books I'm reading, characters I love, my own writing projects (scenes, new releases, character interviews, etc.), and I've even been able to share some fan art that a reader made!

I blog because I enjoy it. I'm not sure that there's any discernible, quantifiable benefit to my writing career from blogging. It is a good way to keep writing on shorter pieces when you're taking a break from a novel or something.
moderntimes
Favorite Author: James Joyce
Favorite Book: Ulysses by James Joyce
Currently Reading: Grendel by John Gardner
fav_author_id: 2516

Post by moderntimes »