Kindle vs. books My personal opinion

Use this forum to talk about ebooks and ebook readers. Whether you have an ebook reader, are considering getting one or never plan on getting one and want to talk about why you think traditional books are better, use this forum for anything to do with ebooks or ereaders.
Kenn_Baker
Favorite Author: Chuck Palahniuk
Currently Reading: Game of thrones Series
Bookshelf Size: 0
fav_author_id: 2812

Kindle vs. books My personal opinion

Post by Kenn_Baker »

I love that a technology has been created for readers. Kindle's were not video games systems or video viewers that turned into book viewers, that is what they are intended for. That warms my heart...that literacy is not dead. That being said, I am a new author. I recently finished my first novel (Which I am not trying to promote here, so please bear with me) The price of self-publishing is costly, but i can epublish my book for free and hopefully get a buzz going about it, in order to raise the funds to publish. That is a great thing.

I love the tangibility of a book. The texture and feel of the pages. Being able to highlight passages, being able to take them outside and not worry about battery life. I love that we live in a world where we have these options.
Scott
Site Admin
Favorite Author: Eckhart Aurelius Hughes
Currently Reading: The Unbound Soul
Bookshelf Size: 340
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-scott.html
Reading Device: B00JG8GOWU
Publishing Contest Votes: 960
fav_author_id: 248825

Post by Scott »

I think there will always be a market for real, traditional books. Hey, there is still a market for those old 8-track giant records.

I am new to the ereader game. I just got my Nook for my birthday in October. I was happy when I got it, but after using it for even just a week I am a total convert. All my doubts about ereaders have been washed away and I can go the rest of my life without ever reading a regular book.