How Do You Find New Authors?

Use this forum for book and reading discussion that doesn't fall into another category. Talk about books, genres, reading issues, general literature, and any other topic of particular interest to readers. If you want to start a thread about a specific book or a specific series, please do that in the section below this one.
dakimmel
Bookshelf Size: 31

How Do You Find New Authors?

Post by dakimmel »

I'm a new indie author (don't worry-not tryng to SPAM anyone), just trying to get a reader's perspective on how you find/trust new authors. Do you browse for interesting book covers? Look for high star ratings? Check out reader reviews? Read sample pages? A combo of all the above? Something else? I'm quite curious as to how others find new talented authors. Thanks!!
lmoses
Bookshelf Size: 41
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-lmoses.html
Latest Review: "Incandescent" by Shannon Avangeline

Post by lmoses »

I typically find new authors through goodreads.com or from friends. I find the best way to try a new author is from reading sample pages. Many people find reviews to be important, but I find that if the summary, sample pages, and cover seem interesting then I can over look a low rating.
Latest Review: "Incandescent" by Shannon Avangeline
gali
Previous Member of the Month
Favorite Author: Agatha Christie
Currently Reading: Pride and Prejudice in Space
Bookshelf Size: 2288
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-gali.html
Reading Device: B00I15SB16
Publishing Contest Votes: 0
fav_author_id: 2484

Post by gali »

I find them through here, recommendations from friends, reviews. I also browse for interesting book covers and read summary and sample pages.
A retired Admin/Mod

Pronouns: She/Her

"In the case of good books, the point is not to see how many of them you can get through, but rather how many can get through to you." (Mortimer J. Adler)
Heidi M Simone
Official Reviewer Representative
Favorite Book: Harry Potter